What is a friend? What is an acquaintance?

Ok so no meme’s or immogies just plain old english:

So many of us have many acquaintances and so few real friends, people we can count on for anything, any time and anywhere.  We all have over 100 facebook friends , we tweet, instagram and do God knows what on all kinds of sites all over the internet. But it seems in this digital age we no longer  understand the concept of real friendship but to me it means BEING THERE, all the time, not just when you need something and not just when it suits you. At least that is what it is for me, even if it is taking the time to just sit and shoot the shit for a while. Be it emotional support, financial help, physically or just someone to spend time with doing anything or everything. You don’t get to call me every month or so when you again need something if you cannot get together for lunch with me in the meantime. I rarely if ever ask for anything beyond emotional support and when I do people have been there, that is undeniable. But when they come at me later with “Remember when I did this favor for you?” that is not friendship, that is something I really do not understand. If I do something for you it is because you needed it and you are my friend not because I may need something later down the road. So my opinion is not really so out there on this subject is it? If you are NOT a friend you are an acquaintance and I will treat you as such. FRIENDS deserve my all ACQUAINTANCES deserve me if and when I feel like being there.  Feel free to offer your views on this subject, I would love the feedback to give me more perspective on the topic.

About bettywins3

I am beginning life anew with a new job and home. It may be an exciting and challenging voyage but always it brings joy, happiness and calm. I am always seeking out knowledge where-ever I may find it , I love learning even the most mundane things, I love watching TED and surfing the net , I google anything I don't know no matter how trivial it may seem. Never too late to expand our horizons!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

