Work or a Career

I am 54 years old and had a nursing career for some 20+ years. Since leaving nursing I have tried a variety of jobs and while I have enjoyed some of them immensely I have not settled on one that both makes me happy and provides room for growth which is essentially what I crave at this point in my life.

I used to edit and proofread essays for college/ university students and have posted an ad online to do this again as it is that time of year. I find this both educational and stimulating so hopefully some will come through that I can concentrate my efforts on. Keeping busy doing something besides applying for jobs is my main goal right now and the extra income could not hurt either.

My days are filled with housework, cooking and the like and while I do love keeping a happy homestead I would feel better contributing financially a little more than I am currently able to.

I have applied to some garden centers which I would love to experience as gardening, be it flowers or vegetables is a personal passion of mine so would be great to combine the two, you never know where you are going with that type of environment. Maybe a year round greenhouse ?

Although I am not believing of the adage that one is too old to learn I ponder on the amount of time and money it would take to achieve such a goal. I did apply to a hairdressing school but at almost $10.000 I would definitely require some financial assistance but it is something I have also always wondered about so would figured it was worth inquiring about at least.

As you can see I am really all over the place with my interests so I will keep searching for the most interesting and challenging prospects where I can best put my many talents to good use and will keep you all abreast of any progress of course.

About bettywins3

I am beginning life anew with a new job and home. It may be an exciting and challenging voyage but always it brings joy, happiness and calm. I am always seeking out knowledge where-ever I may find it , I love learning even the most mundane things, I love watching TED and surfing the net , I google anything I don't know no matter how trivial it may seem. Never too late to expand our horizons!
This entry was posted in Work and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

