Effects Of The Severe Cold On My Life

As many of you undoubtably know we have been experiencing extreme cold temperatures in Ontario (well most of Canada) as of late. With the wind-chill factor thrown in it has topped off at -30 some mornings. The high winds have created hazardous driving conditions with many accidents on almost all the major highways in SE Ontario.

But how has this effected my life, as I work from home? Well it hasn’t impacted me as much as some others except last Thursday when the drifting and ice in the lane-way in the morning caused my friend who had come to pick me up in her small Caliber to become stuck and nothing my boy friends son could come up with could get us out, and he tried every trick known to the Canadian male driver, we eventually gave up and called CAA to tow us out of the lane-way but not in time for me to make my appointment which had to be rescheduled to this Friday. We have made it out every time thanks to the Dodge Ram and four wheel drive and M.S. diligently plowing what he can with the riding mower and plow blade attachment, but it is impossible to keep up with the mounds of snow that the plows and graders pile at the end of the lane-way 4-5 times a day. We live on the main detour for the 402 so it must be kept very clear as almost daily some part of that main highway gets shut down due to accidents or white out conditions and traffic is re-routed past us.  Saturday was Valentines Day and we went to dinner at Crossings, a nearby restaurant which we attended on New Years Eve also and the meal and company was exceptional.  We were surprised when the bartender who had been our waitress last time we were there actually recognized us and welcomed us back with a smile and some light conversation. Yesterday we were happy to discover that the winds and therefor the drifting was minimal so we made it to the RV show in London which was a real treat as I have never attended one and was quite impressed by the luxury of some of the higher end models. So aside from less hours at work due nothing to the weather life for me has not been effected by the cold. The house is warm and cozy and the daily routine unhindered. Still I cannot wait for the arrival of spring and  outdoor activities to once again be a welcome event.

Patiently waiting for the warmer weather as I do every year…and definitely going to make the most of it when it does arrive. In the meantime Ontario, drive safe, stay warm and try to keep the cursing to a minimum 😉

About bettywins3

I am beginning life anew with a new job and home. It may be an exciting and challenging voyage but always it brings joy, happiness and calm. I am always seeking out knowledge where-ever I may find it , I love learning even the most mundane things, I love watching TED and surfing the net , I google anything I don't know no matter how trivial it may seem. Never too late to expand our horizons!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

