Country Life

There is so much I love about living in the country it is hard to think of everything wonderful about it but I am going to try. I grew into my early teens in the country or in small villages and I suppose that’s why I hate the hustle and bustle of a big city, I have lived in Toronto and London and hated most of what a metropolis has to offer. Even the last 20 yrs in St Thomas began to wear on me.

The first thing that comes to mind is the solitude even if we are together sitting on the deck on a warm summers night it is just so damned peaceful. Even the traffic fades away and it is easy to forget it is even passing the house. The space is the next thing I adore, the prospect of a large garden next year is so exciting to me because I have not had the luxury of home-grown vegetables for quite a few years and to be canning and freezing again is going to be so special to me, fresh is always better. And of course the fresh air, even when laced with a little fertilizer, that is something I definitely missed.

I love that the time we have off together can be spent doing exactly as we please without the binds of traffic, other people or city obstacles to hinder the flow of peace all around. Whether out on the bike touring or simply mowing the lawn on the riding mower mobility seems more fun when in the wide open spaces.

The last week has brought frigid temperatures and although outside is daunting our home is warm and calming. As I work in the house pretty much the moment my work day is done I am away from my desk busying myself getting dinner on in the kitchen or finishing up chores from the morning that had to wait to be completed. I have the offer to go out yesterday but found myself content to fritter about finding odds and ends to put in order and seriously enjoying the boredom of it all. As much as I find the stairs a nuisance they are necessary and I travel them many times a day, that in itself can be a factor during my work day when the powder room seems miles away. But at least we have a warm roof over our heads and the fact that it definitely is a “home” doesn’t hurt either. The three months I have lived here and believe me it amazes me it has only been that long as it feels much longer  I have made good use of the time making our space warm in every way I can and I think I accomplished that nicely. M.S. can come home to a warm house, a hot meal with a warm beer and a loving woman who will gladly get up tomorrow and do it all again.

Country life may not be full of lights and glamor but it is definitely the life for us. I intend to enjoy it for as long as I can whether it is cold or hot, light or dark and if I am a bumpkin at heart then so be it 🙂 I am finally “HOME”

About bettywins3

I am beginning life anew with a new job and home. It may be an exciting and challenging voyage but always it brings joy, happiness and calm. I am always seeking out knowledge where-ever I may find it , I love learning even the most mundane things, I love watching TED and surfing the net , I google anything I don't know no matter how trivial it may seem. Never too late to expand our horizons!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

