“Glitches” come with a Country Life

So I have been living in the country for a while now and am adjusting very well if I do say so myself. Now that I have the house pretty much in order I am working on getting used to the little “glitches” as they present themselves. A couple of weeks ago the water messed up as the basement was flooded and so the landlords fixed that issue, Saturday the pump went, yep died ! We woke to NO water at all and company coming for Thanksgiving dinner, turned out to be but a minor inconvenience as we use bottled water for most things anyway so aside from using it to flush there was just a days wait until M.S. installed a new pump. And as a bonus our water pressure has improved at least 50% so I am kind of thankful the pump quit.

Another “glitch” I am facing is finding employment, you see I don’t drive and so working at home is going to have to be it for now. Finding a legitimate company to work for is the glitch really. I have found one that does pay…not a lot but it does pay. Another I am applying for needs a record check done and it is on the radio this morning that London is 5 mths behind in this department due to an influx of people needing them right now. Luckily this company uses an on-line service so I can bypass that obstacle. Hopefully by months end I will be fully employed as I have passed all the screenings for them.

The only other “glitches” our home has is that the windows need to be sealed so we will be getting the kits tonight when we go into St Thomas and installing them on the weekend, will help M.S. to install the window treatments at the same time so killing two birds with one stone there 😉

Mice have been a problem in the past but M.S. is sealing all the gaps in the basement windows etc and Baggy can take care of the rest, yes even cats have duties around here. The humongous spiders on the other hand I have surprisingly gotten used to very quickly.

And the last “glitch” is the rust that forms quickly on the bathroom fixtures. I have now removed the worst of it and found a pumice stone works very well to keep up on all but the yellowing so we will get some extra strength CLR to take care of that. Also will get new washers for the taps etc. So  I have overcome this issue as well. Getting a washer and dryer is definitely on the agenda also.

There are positive “glitches” also like bon fires and bbq’s with friends, bike rides and quiet mornings/nights sitting  on the front deck just talking or chilly nights spent snuggling to a good movie. Next spring we will be enlarging the deck, putting in a vegetable garden and going out west for a visit for a week or two to see/meet the rest of the family in the summer. And I have a lot of fun riding the lawnmower whenever I can, it also has a plow for doing the drive in the winter so I will have to learn to do that also. Stress reduction at it’s very best 🙂

All in all I am adjusting pretty damned well if I do say so myself and am very happy to finally be with a wonderful, loving and patient man who was willing to wait for me to adjust from city life. TY Honey 🙂

About bettywins3

I am beginning life anew with a new job and home. It may be an exciting and challenging voyage but always it brings joy, happiness and calm. I am always seeking out knowledge where-ever I may find it , I love learning even the most mundane things, I love watching TED and surfing the net , I google anything I don't know no matter how trivial it may seem. Never too late to expand our horizons!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

