The history of my position as a manager to date

So in August of 2012 my man and I took a job at a building in town, Myself as manager and he was to do light maintenance as it was needed.

Most of the tenants were either behind in rent or trouble so within that first month I evicted over half the units, some just left preferring not to live up to their responsibilities but others made it more difficult.

One particular tenant dragged it out for over 3 mths, began texting me constantly, disrupting my day, I blocked him and he began banging on the ceiling at all hrs of the night (he lived below us) and then calling police when we got up at 6 a.m. to begin our work day. He progressed until it culminated in his super gluing my door shut and finally being told by the police that one more infraction would lead to his being charged. He lost at tribunal as he had not paid rent for 4 mths but still was insistent when the sheriff arrived that he was NOT leaving, he left.

Another, after not paying rent for 2 mths was evicted just to leave the apt totally destroyed and full of junk and strewn with garbage, the one bedroom had housed his 3 dogs and was totally covered 2 inches deep in feces and the walls, doors and windowsills were covered in this filth also. I have learned that in the 9 mths since he left he has been evicted from 2 other apartments, who lives like this?

During this time my man and I took a break…knowing I was alone made some of these people think I was somehow more vulnerable but they couldn’t have been more wrong. I had terrific support from the owners and still do, I have learnt a lot and made a lot of positive changes for them and they know and appreciate me for this which is a tremendous boost.

Most of the new tenants have proven to be a valued asset to the buildings with a couple of exceptions to the rule, non payers who are simply evicted and usually deek so as not to incur the tribunal. There have been two long-term tenants who occasionally get their dander up and call the bosses which I am always informed about and inevitably I deal with it. The bosses never interfere they simply offer advice and support and allow me to deal with the situations as best I see fit, and it always works out in the favor of the general well-being of all my tenants. They are now trusting me with far more responsibilities than any other manager and even come to me for advice when it comes to the online interfaces we use. I have proven myself to be a valuable asset to this company and them a valuable learning experience for me. And overall the “bumps” are very few anymore and I am sure eventually will dissipate all together once I have filled the buildings with mature and responsible adults.

I will do all I can to make tenants moves and adjustment to living here a good experience. I have given them household items left by others  up to and including furniture, I have found helpers to physically help them move and I have 3 X now moved tenants to other units when they were having difficulty keeping up with the rent in the unit they were in or the need for a bigger space for a new addition to their family or in one instance because a roof leak made living in the unit out of the question until the roof is repaired and as I told the boss at no extra rent for them as the move is our issue not theirs. If they need a little extra cash I will go to them if I need a small job done, forging a better symbiotic relationship with them.

Now it appears I am facing the karma of yet another faux pas on my part, I invited a tenant into my personal life, of course when work issues interfered the friendship has ended and the childish backlash has begun. and she has teamed up with one of the long-term tenants who constantly calls the bosses and quite frankly I have been told they listen to her and pass it on to me to deal with so really that alliance is fruitless, funnily this is the same woman who got her the form for loud music to begin with. I have no doubt that  I will survive this new “threat”

Ultimately I am damned good at my job and to lose a welfare tenant or me is really not an issue for the boss. If only tenants would learn that a co-operating, symbiotic relationship is much more beneficial in the end than a vindictive, spiteful and childish one will ever be. Maybe some are just not old enough to be out on their own.

So in the end I love my job and even with the occasional bumps in the road I am learning and will not make the same mistake twice, unfortunately for some but beneficial to me and after all that is what I need to worry about here. My standing with the company and as I was assured yesterday, my job performance is very good and growing every day so I have no worries as far as that is concerned…..

This too shall pass

About bettywins3

I am beginning life anew with a new job and home. It may be an exciting and challenging voyage but always it brings joy, happiness and calm. I am always seeking out knowledge where-ever I may find it , I love learning even the most mundane things, I love watching TED and surfing the net , I google anything I don't know no matter how trivial it may seem. Never too late to expand our horizons!
This entry was posted in Work and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

