Life is wonderful

I must say that the set backs I have had lately are actually paying off. I am smoking under 10 a day from the pack to pack and a half I was before. My appetite has come back and I now eat roughly 1000 calories a day compared to the maybe 200 before, instead of living on coffee and tea. And my whole outlook has changed dramatically. I now know what is important and what isn’t in my life and who is and who isn’t. I used to waste so much energy debating whether to help someone else or not, now I just don’t, if I don’t know right away then I know I shouldn’t do it. I know who is worth it believe me, and I know who I am important to also. There have been a lot of people helping the last week, even if it is just to be there for me for company so I no longer feel alone even for one minute of the day. Yesterday work was busy until about 2:30 and then after my bank deposit I went to lunch with some friends and to the Midtown for one so P could see what it was like. Turned out to be a nice day all around. I am so thankful for all those who have shown so much love and concern lately and am also grateful for those who didn’t bother even to ask how I was………….now I am clear on who is worth my time. And that is good to know. When they come around because they need something I can easily say NO without any guilt or shame about it at all. Thank you to all my friends I love you. Image

About bettywins3

I am beginning life anew with a new job and home. It may be an exciting and challenging voyage but always it brings joy, happiness and calm. I am always seeking out knowledge where-ever I may find it , I love learning even the most mundane things, I love watching TED and surfing the net , I google anything I don't know no matter how trivial it may seem. Never too late to expand our horizons!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Life is wonderful

  1. RedeuxBill says:

    The need to help “everyone” is an interesting phenomenon. Sometimes it is because we are “fixers”, needing to help others, sometimes no matter the circumstances, because we have often needed help ourselves. But, sometimes this need to “help” comes from ego: either the feeling that we have answers to most everything or that by our sheer will or tenacity we can resolve the problems of others. I have come to realize that, for me, a more humble approach is not only better, but more practical. I don’t feel stressed to help everyone and everything and also more at peace knowing I am but a part of something greater. Sometimes, just a kind word or a few minutes of our time can really help someone much more than our most strenuous and sincere efforts.

    Bill

Leave a Reply

